STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C4-85-697

APPOINTMENT OF ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO REVIEW THE CODE OF JUDICIAL CONDUCT AND THE RULES OF THE BOARD ON JUDICIAL STANDARDS

AMENDED ORDER

The Board on Judicial Standards has requested that the Court appoint an advisory committee to consider changes to the Rules of the Board on Judicial Standards and the Code of Judicial Conduct. In addition, the Minnesota State Bar Association has petitioned the Court requesting certain changes to Section 2C of the Code of Judicial Conduct, and by order dated June 13, 2003, the Court has previously solicited comments on the proposed amendments.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that:

- 1. There is established an Advisory Committee on Judicial Conduct ("the Committee") to review the Code of Judicial Conduct ("the Code") and the Rules of the Board on Judicial Standards ("the Board Rules") and make recommendations to this Court concerning their need for revision.
- 2. In particular, the Committee shall consider:
 - a. expanding the jurisdiction of the Board over non-incumbent judges to promote and facilitate uniform enforcement of the Code;
 - b. revising Canon 5 of the Code in light of recent legal developments;
 - c. options such as diversion for judges suffering from chemical dependency or mental illness;
 - d. revising Section 3A(8) of the Code to conform to its counterpart in the ABA Model Code on Judicial Conduct (Aug. 1990);
 - e. the proposed changes to Section 2C of the Code recommended by the Minnesota State Bar Association, and comments submitted to the Court in response thereto.

3. The Committee members are:

E. Thomas Sullivan, Esq. Kenneth Jorgenson, Esq. Judge John L. Holahan Kent A. Gernander, Esq. Chief Judge Edward Toussaint, Jr. Judge James Clark Judge Lawrence T. Collins Judge Vicki Landwehr Christopher Dietzen, Esa. Robert M. A. Johnson, Esq. Earle F. Kyle, Esq. M. Jacqueline Regis, Esq. Duane Benson, Public Member Judy Duffy, Public Member Verna Kelly, Public Member Vivian Jenkins Nelson, Public Member Lawrence Redmond, Public Member

- 4. E. Thomas Sullivan, Esq. shall serve as Chair.
- 5. David S. Paull, Esq., Executive Secretary of the Board on Judicial Standards, shall serve ex officio.
- 6. Christopher Ruhl, Staff Attorney Court Services Division, State Court Administrator's Office, shall serve as staff.
- 7. The committee shall report to the Supreme Court no later than April 15, 2004.
- 8. One additional public member will be appointed by subsequent order.

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

DEC 9 - 2003

BY THE COURT:

FILED

Kathleen A. Blatz

Chief Justice